Yasmin Naghavi, Marcus Walkom, Rob Glass - Partners

MAL News

2 days ago

We are very excited to share the news that Yasmin Naghavi, Rob Glass and Marcus Walkom have been made Partners at our firm. Huge (and much deserved) congratulations!
Australasian Lawyer Magazine

ARIA Winners 2021

6 days ago

Congratulations to everyone who took home an ARIA Award last night as well as to everyone who was nominated.
We wanted to do a big shout out to our clients for the following awards –
Song Of The Year – Booster Seat by Spacey Jane
Best Group – RÜFÜS DU SOL
Michael Gudinski Breakthrough Artist – Budjerah
Best Country Album – The World Today by Troy Cassar-Daley
Best Dance Release – Alive by RÜFÜS DU SOL
Best Original Soudtrack or Musical Theatre Cast Album – Life Is Strange by Angus and Julia Stone

GRAMMY Awards 2022

7 days ago

The nominees are in for the 64th Grammy Awards which will be presented on 31 January 2022. Congratulations to RÜFÜS DU SOL, who has been nominated for Best Dance / Electronic Recording and Arooj Aftab, who has been nominated for both Best New Artist and Best Global Music Performance.

ARIA Awards 2021

21 days ago

The finalists for Australia’s most illustrious music awards, the ARIA Awards, have been announced and the range of artists who have been nominated are truly outstanding in all genres. We are proud to represent some of Australia’s finest musicians and want to shout out a massive congratulations to our clients Amy Shark, Big Scary, Budjerah, Cosmo’s Midnight, Dom Dolla, Gretta Ray, Josh Teskey & Ash Grunwald, Julia Stone, Masked Wolf, MAY-A, RÜFÜS DU SOL, Spacey Jane, Tash Sultana, The Teskey Brothers, Thelma Plum, Troy Cassar-Daley and Ziggy Alberts.

Client News

23 days ago

Congrats to Peach PRC on signing a worldwide publishing deal with Kobalt Music. The Music Network

We are excited to announce that Jessica Iuliano has been appointed to the board for the Australian Guild of Screen Composers. Jessica joins Pru Montin (VIC/L.A), Elizabeth Drake (Vic), Hylton Mowday (NSW), VP Operations Me-Lee Hay (NSW), and VP Marketing Dale Cornelius (Vic), with President Antony Partos (NSW). The AGSC has also launched a monthly Composer to Composer interview series on YouTube, highlighting the talents and work practises of Australian screen composers, created an AGSC Women’s Playlist, established in partnership with NATSIMO the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Screen Composer Four Week Intensive, participated in the APRA AMCOS Women’s Mentorship program, and has been building key relationships with tertiary institutions nationally through the delivery of free educational webinars. To learn more, head to:

Music in Games

2 months ago

As part of the Melbourne International Games week, Yasmin Naghavi will be speaking at the Australian Independent Record Labels Association Music In Games conference on 7 October 2021.
Tickets are free but get in quick, because they won’t last long. To find out more and register, please visit Music In Games

A Million $ Conversation

2 months ago

Our very own Rob Glass is the latest guest speaker on Australian Music and Culture Podcast the “Den Of Truth”. In this episode Rob runs through the pros and cons of signing with a record label vs being independent, the key terms in a management agreement and why a good music lawyer should be used as part of the Artist’s team, and not just on an “as-needs” basis.

The Mighty V

3 months ago

Rock Posters has joined a campaign for Victorians to get vaccinated. Media Arts Lawyers is proud to join the initiative alongside Melbourne’s leading business and entertainment companies, to encourage Victorians to get vaccinated against COVID-19 and in turn support the reopening of this great city.

Silver Scrolls 2021

4 months ago

The 20 finalists for New Zealand’s most prestigious songwriting award have been selected from over 250 entries. The APRA Silver Scroll Awards recognises outstanding achievement in the craft of songwriting. A massive congratulations to The Beths, Chris Chetland, Dallas Tamaira, Devin Abrams, Reb Fountain, Madeline Bradley (of deryk), Louis Baker, Mona Sanei (of CHAII), Troy Kingi and Alien Weaponry. Ka Pai!